Tags

, , , ,

raindeer crackI was out photographing sidewalk cracks in my neighborhood and this is what immerged  from the two triangles on the left hand side of the picture.

first sketchThis is the first rough pencil sketch of my little reindeer.

first raindeerHere is the final drawing. I decided to try some YUPO paper and that turned out to be quite the adventure. It’s a very smooth paper. As I tried to layer pastel chalks, one layer would rub off as I tried to apply a second. I persevered and came up with the drawing above. It’s a more pastel look than I had originally imaged. Why didn’t I just switch papers? Good question. I have no idea. I was like a dog with a bone determined to get a picture out of it.

Next I photographed the drawing and reduced it in size so that I had four images that would fit a standard A2 card.

raindeer with text

Originally I was planning on hand stamping each image with text and the lines running across the antlers. I realized it would a lot faster to put them in with Photoshop. This is little Rudy before the each section was cut and hand embellished.

After a lot of punching and die cutting, here is this years Christmas card. Tah Dah!

Rudy with reindeer backgroundHere is a closer look.

Rudy with signature detail

I got out my first ten cards today. More to go tonight and tomorrow.

What did I learn from this exercise? I love cracks. YUPO will not be my substrate of choice.

