Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend found me at Ink About It taking a class with Penny Bennington, hand painting and lettering an apron.

7940a3f485f51c57916890e764378fb6

This is Penny(on the right) with Dina Wakely showing off her apron and the apron she made for Dina.

She taught us how to color our aprons with acrylic paint and then some really neat lettering tricks using our own handwriting. The lettering was done with a nib pen dipped in India Ink.

Unfinished apron

Here is my apron after four hours of class. There was still much work ahead at home.

Full apron light

Here is my completed apron after another day of labor.

Top apron

I knew going into class that this was the quote I wanted to use. I had no preconceived idea of how I would execute it. All the splotches on the background started looking like flowers so I added some detail with Derwent Inktense pencils.

Bottom apron

Happiness truly hit me taking Penny’s class. Thank you Penny and thank you Florence and the Machine for your song.

